Sewing Machine Meme~!

I know I wasn’t supposed to be talking about sewing, but apparently it’s Sewing Machine Month at www.sewmamasew.com . Which is kind of crazy! I just got a new sewing machine!

Before I start off, today I fixed my machine! When I first got it, I realized that the buttonhole push button didn’t go down at all and the dial with the “M” wouldn’t turn either, so I couldn’t zigzag or make buttonholes. No wonder that girl sold him to me for so cheap!

So this is what I ended doing:

Well, I needed to oil The Tank anyway, so I took him apart, and while I was doing that, I decided to figure out what was going on.

See that bit that’s sticking out? That was the culprit. I thought for sure the gears were stuck, but my dad pointed out that it could be pushed forward from the top and it was spring-loaded. It just needed to be aligned with the “M” dial’s mechanism or whatnot.

So now Tank is good as new! Zigzags and everything now! I just need to figure out the buttonholing part..

 What brand and model do you have?

It’s a Morse, but not too sure about the model yet. It’s a Fotomatic ZigZag for sure, but it’s not exactly a II, which it could be, but not quite sure because the picture of the manual for that model differs from my machine.

How long have you had it?

I got him last month.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?

$40 off Craigslist!

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?

I sewed a few burp cloths, started a cloth diaper, sewed a patch onto my dad’s leather Harley-Davidson vest, a bunch of pet pouches and hammocks, and started on other things too.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?

I haven’t been sewing a whole lot lately, but plan too soon! I need to get some cloth diapers done for the gummy bear! It hasn’t seen too much wear and tear, but I have broken 4 needles already because I was being stupid.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?

So far I love him! I’m very passionate about him and plan to get him some more buddies. It’s actually a male, and his name is The Tank.

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

It’s definitely a workhorse! Easy maintenance! Why bring it to a repair shop, when everything is so easily accessed and in plain view to fix yourself?

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

It was just the fact that I thought the zigzag and buttonhole mechanisms were broken. I’m still working out his bugs and figuring him out.

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it!

Well, I kind of feel bad because I actually do have another sewing machine that I’ve had for about 4 or 5 years now. It’s the cheapie Brother machine from Walmart. I think they have a new model out now, though. That one’s been through a lot: My first sewing machine, dropped it a couple times, bent up, sewed through my fingernail before. I was thinking about selling it, but I might keep it for nostalgic purposes. It still works, but it’s nothing like The Tank, of course.

I just happened to find The Tank on Craigslist. I had been looking for a machine like this for years, but happened to see Flappergirl’s blog about her Morse, the week I moved back to California, and I renewed my search and  happened to find him for $40!

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

Heck yeah I would! If you are a serious sewer, this is the machine to get, or at least the same style. Not just for novelty (they come in pretty colors!), but also for function! These machines are workhorses and are made to last forever when taken care of. All their models are supposed to be easy to use, and their maintenance is obviously easy as well.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?

If you sew a lot, get a machine that can take a lot.

Do you have a dream machine?

At the moment, it’s this one. I’m pretty sure we’re going to have a long and happy relationship.

>^.^<

 

3 Comments

  1. July 2, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    […] Morse Apollo 6200 Morse Fotomatic ZigZag Morse Push-button Zig […]

  2. dewmound said,

    May 21, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    I have a Morse 440 that is gummed up. Should I pitch it? I needs a new bobbin winder assembly. Know where to get parts?

    • bebopfox said,

      May 23, 2010 at 6:50 pm

      If you can fix it, I wouldn’t just throw it away. Try eBay or a sewing machine shop! The only thing is that it may be super cheap to fix or really expensive. Try and just get the parts and fix it yourself.


Leave a Reply

